Tips on How to Disconnect to Connect

Imagine this scene on a typical weekend while one family is on their way for their weekend lunch in nearby mall.  Father is busy driving the car, mother is at the passenger seat busy chatting with her friends on her mobile phone, big sister at the back is busy browsing facebook with her iPAD, and little brother is busy playing his favorite game in PSP.  Can you see what is common among them?  They are all BUSYtechnology.  Yes, busy with different things that they completely unintentionally ignored the person beside them.  It’s sad that the more most people are connected to the outside world, the more they build walls between them and the person beside them.

Sadly, above example is not fictional.  It happens in real life.  In fact, I saw that scenario firsthand while onboard a jeepney (a famous, colorful public transport vehicle in the Philippines) when I was still single.  It made me promise that it will never happen when I have my own family. I promised that our family weekends will be filled with laughter, storytelling, singing, cuddling, sharing home-cooked meals, and never-ending bonding with hubby and our kids.

I can still remember one of my interview with a successful mentor-capitalist almost a decade ago who said that he practices work-life balance.  He mentioned that no matter how busy the day is, he disconnects to his work life as soon as he sets his foot inside their home.  This gives him the opportunity to connect and to have quality time with his family.

After seeing this beautiful commercial from a telecommunications company in Thailand, I was reminded of how I planned my life to be focused on building and enriching happy relationships with my loved ones.

You may click this link to see the actual video of DTAC Thailand.

Here are some of the practical tips on how to disconnect to connect at home:

  1. Tell your contacts that you do not respond to emergencies.  This will give them a hint that your contacts cannot expect an urgent response from you as soon as you get home.quote-communication
  2. Turn off your cellphone or hide it inside your office bag.  With this, you will not be tempted to answer calls and text messages that are not urgent at all.  Otherwise, it should have been discussed while you are in the office.
  3. Do not bring home your office laptop.  You only spend 2 full days a week with your loved ones, while you spend 5 full days at the office.  If you will allow work to interfere you at home, what else is left with your loved ones?  Manage your time well so that you finish all your tasks at the work place and not at home.
  4. Limit time spent in front of the television.  Even if all the members of the family enjoy watching the same show, the communication is still barred as your eyes are glued on the television during the entire time.  Instead, indulge on sports activities or board games that promote communication.

It’s sad that the more people are connected to the outside world, the thicker the walls are built between them and the person beside them.  Let’s make a difference.  Let’s not allow our lives to be dictated by technology,   Let’s find time to disconnect to connect.

Happy with my relationships,
Mumay

6 thoughts on “Tips on How to Disconnect to Connect

  1. Love your tips! So helpful and timely. I could use a digital detox myself. Buti na lang I follow tip # 3. Yun lang, television-based ang work ko so I can’t do tip # 4.

    • Thank you, sister. It always pays to manage time wisely. Ako, my number 1 rule is to put my family on my topmost priority. 🙂

  2. Good tips you have here. I know people these days are so wired and I am even guilty of that. For example, instead of talking to my cousin in the next room, I would viber her nalang. My bad! :/

    • Oh, one of my friends used to Yahoo chat with her brothers who are staying inside other rooms while inside the same house. Funny how technology created a wall or barrier on face-to-face communication.

    • Thank you. I’m just grateful that the community where we use to live is still a bit laid-back and kids still use to play “taguan,” tumbang preso,” “patintero,” “sipa,” and other classic Filipino games that require human interaction. I’m glad that my son will still get to play with “real” playmates and not the “virtual” ones.

Leave a Reply

