Truly Rich People are not Workaholic!

Recently, I’ve been so pre-occupied with lots of things – a series to finish watching, a book so interesting that I cannot put down, a make-or-break project in the office, a project for our business expansion, etc.  I’ve been so stressed with living life and trying to finish all that is listed on my To Do List that I became guilty of forgetting to relax, breathe, and enjoy life in a leisurely pace.

And then, I received a newsletter from Bo Sanchez, which often pile-up on my Inbox before I make a quick escape and take pleasure in reading his short, yet informative articles.  I’m sharing you one of his articles which I receive on a regular basis as a benefit of being a Truly Rich Club Member.

Join the Truly Rich Club

divider
Are you a Lifeaholic?

I was a true-blooded, full-pledged workaholic.
I’ve now converted and have become a lifeaholic—if there’s such a thing.  I’m now “addicted” to breathe, to love, to quiet, to beauty, to balance, to peace, to joy, to simplicity, and all the wonderful stuff contained in this adventure called life.

A workaholic works long hours.
But a lifeaholic works regular hours.

A workaholic has very shallow friendships, in and out of work.
A lifeaholic treasures his deep friendships as his greatest wealth.

A workaholic works with no defined goals.  He just wants to be busy.
But a lifeaholic has defined goals and works towards attaining them.  And half of these goals have nothing to do with his work.

A workaholic has no interests outside of work.
A lifeaholic on the other hand has pleasurable interests outside his work.

A workaholic cannot delegate.
A lifeaholic makes delegation his master skill.

A workaholic doesn’t take vacations.  And if he is forced to take one, his mind will still be trapped in his office desk no matter where he goes.
A lifeaholic on the other hand takes afternoon naps, annual personal retreats, second honeymoons, regular family picnics, and weekly day-offs with gusto.

A workaholic feels that life is one huge problem.
A lifeaholic feels that life is one mysterious and wonderful gift.

The choice is yours…

Laugh More Often
And one of the most important marks of a lifeaholic is laughter.  I love the Zen proverb that says, Angels can fly because they take themselves so lightly.

Laughter is one of the simplest, most inexpensive, drug-free stress-reduction gifts of the universe!  Experience the healing energy of laughter flow through your body, soul, and mind regularly.  Simplicity means not taking yourself too seriously, and the alternative can only be laughter.

Picture1

Photo from Microsoft

Norman Cousins, who pioneered scientific research on laughter, labeled laughter as “inner jogging,” noting its healthful effects on muscle relaxation, heart rate, and blood pressure.  He writes, “I made the joyous discovery that ten minutes of genuine belly laughter had an anesthetic effect that would give me at least two hours of pain-free sleep.”  He credibly claims that his cancer was healed by laughter.  And for him, his laughter regimen included watching old films of Laurel and Hardy and The Three Stooges!

Don’t take life too seriously—especially the small irritations of your day.  Instead of being frustrated at traffic, try laughing at the silly way we urbanites live.
Most especially, laugh at yourself and at your mistakes.

You might have seen this quote somewhere else (it’s the stuff people forward to each other through e-mail) but I re-quote it here nonetheless because it points to what we’ve been talking about.

“If I had my life to live over,…I would relax.  I would be sillier than I have been in this trip.  I know of a very few things I would take seriously.  I would climb more mountains, swim more rivers, and watch more sunsets…  I would have more actual troubles and fewer imaginary ones…  If I had my life to live over, I would ride more merry-go-rounds,…pick more daisies.”

Do you laugh at yourself and the crazy things in your life?

Do you regularly involve yourself in playful activities?  If you enjoy humor books and films, why not enjoy a good dose of belly laughter every once in a while?

Make a list of playful activities you want to try in the coming week.

Don’t wait to live life over.

Do it now.

Be a lifeaholic and laugh more often.

May your dreams come true,
Bo Sanchez

divider

Great article isn’t it?  Do you want to receive more of similar articles?

How about strategies on growing your wealth?

How about power talks directly from Bo Sanchez?

How about learning how to invest in the stock market and being part of a support group that share the same interest of being financially free?

Click this link and learn how Bo Sanchez taught his maids to invest in the stock market:
http://www.bosanchezmembers.com/amember/go.php?r=30702&i=10

maids

Happy investing,
Mumay

6 thoughts on “Truly Rich People are not Workaholic!

  1. I am a certified lifeaholic! Lol. Then again, I was never the workaholic type to begin with–a wee bit too hedonistic for that, which really isn’t all that good either. Still, I know I can still work on getting more out of life and minimize worrying about bills, the uncertain future and what-have-you. Thanks for sharing sis! Btw, I have read that ebook, even shared it with a coupla friends. It’s really good. 🙂

    • Good for you. 🙂 I am guilty of being workaholic in the past, but then one circumstance happened and reminded me to be lifeaholic. We often hear quotes that the time we are gone, the company where we work in can easily replace us, but the family we will leave will always have that empty space in their hearts. I saw it right in front of my eyes when a colleague died. She dedicated half of her life at work, going home late even during those times that she is badly sick. Today, she is seldom remembered in the office. There are very few of our colleagues remembered her during her first death anniversary.

  2. WHAPAK!

    Thank you for sharing, that hit the spot.

    I also used to be a workaholic with my previous job. I worked extra hours at times, my boss would call me in the middle of my rest day so I can come in to work and conduct upskill trainings. Definitely not fun. I was on a downward spiral then and felt like I wanted to shoot myself with the thought of coming to work. I’ve left my job since then and it was the best decision I’ve made so far.

  3. I’m a huge fan of Bo Sanchez. I read his book, My Maid Invests in the Stock Market, way back when I was in college. I wanted to try it out, too, but never had the chance to fix everything. I’m hoping to start investing soon, though.

Leave a Reply

