My Favorite Movie

Day 19.  Okay, I’m supposed to share my favorite movie of all time.  But, I just can’t choose my favorite among my three favorite movies:  The Pursuit of Happyness, Back to the Future, and The 3 Idiots.

All three movies are from different genre but all of them taught me life’s very important lessons.  I’m not a fan of movies (and television) so pardon me if my choices are a bit off and are far from the so-called “movies of all time.”

For those who haven’t watched these movies yet, I took the liberty of sharing a brief summary of what each movie is all about and also a few reasons why I like them.

Pursuit of Happyness (genre:  drama)
The movie is based on the story of Chris Gardner, a salesman of bone density scanner, who is struggling from nearly one year of homelessness.

pursuitThe early part of the movie shows how Chris desperately tried to sell his remaining stocks of bone density scanners in order to bring his son to a good school and to bring food to the table.

Until one day, he met a manager at a stock brokerage and securities firm that led him to land an unpaid internship slot in the firm.  A big part of the movie showed Chris and his sons struggle for survival.  The movie ended with Chris getting hired as a paid broker among the 19 other interns.

Why I like the movie?  It taught me courage and resilience despite the odds.  The movie reminds me to never lose my focus on my dreams despite the perplexities.  On the side, it is also a heartwarming story of a parent’s love to his child.

 

Back to the Future (genre:  science fiction)
The movie is about a teenager Marty McFly, who is sent back in time, where he meets his future parents in high backschool and accidentally becomes his mother’s romantic interest. Dr. Emmett “Doc” Brown, a scientist and Marty’s friend, repairs the damage to history by advising Marty how to cause his parents to fall in love.

Eventually, Marty and Doc Emmett must also find a way to return Marty to present.

It was a very entertaining movie which was later on followed by two more installments, which are equally successful.

Why I like the movie?  It was very entertaining!  I’m not a fan of science fiction movies because they either bore me to death or I find them just plain impossible!  But this one is different because it was filled with side stories that made the movie really enjoyable to watch.

 

The 3 Idiots (genre: drama, comedy)
This movie is about the three engineering students at the prestigious Imperial College of Engineering in India.  Farhan, Raju, and Rancho eventually became friends though they are all different in personalities.

3Farhan, whose interest is into wildlife photography, pursued engineering to please his father.  His parents’ dreams include him being an engineer ever since he was born.  While, Raju decided to pursue and engineering course to improve their family’s financial situation.  However, his self-confidence is very low that it resulted to his poor grades.  On the other hand, Rancho the smartest yet the most unorthodox of them all has great interest over robotics.  He invents during his spare time.

The story became exciting when they encountered Virus, the college director, whose conventional beliefs about education is being constantly negated by Rancho.  The story even got very exciting when they crossed paths with Chatur, their classmate who has so much belief on himself.

Why I like the movie?  This is a classic example of the statement, “Your past does not define your future.”  You’ll cry and laugh while watching the movie.

I guess, what’s important in any movie that we watch is the key take-away or the take home message that we learn and how it has impacted our lives right after watching it.

 

All is well,
Mumay

Leave a Reply

